My Homemade Library – January 7, 2015

Hi and welcome to “My Homemade Library”. I’m Charlene – a Librarian who loves to read! I know, that’s a shock! I’ve spent my career as a Public Librarian (adult and children’s), health researcher, circulation clerk, you name it! As a Public Librarian, I was often asked by the patrons if all I did was “read all day”. I wish! That was not the case, though I absolutely loved the part of the job where we perused Publisher’s Weekly, Library Journal, publisher backlists and more to pick books for our library. I read tons of reviews, knew what was being published when and kept up with my reading – no problem. Now, 10 years later, I’m a mom of 3 young children who doesn’t get to read as much. I try very hard to. I bring a book or my Kobo with me wherever I go – just in case! You never know when you’ll be kept waiting and need a good book in hand. My goal now is read a good number of books, choose books over social media (except to promote this growing blog of course – but, that’s IT! *wink wink*), and review titles that I find extra interesting and fun to showcase to readers. That’s my hope. As the blog grows, who knows. But, I want to get back to my roots where reading is a fun and leisurely activity.

On my “to be read” list include Louise Penny’s mystery series, some backlist titles by Jodi Picoult and Marian Keyes, up and coming reads by Paula Hawkins, award-winning and nominated books for Canada Reads, The Giller Prize and more! What’s on your “to read” list for 2015?

Leave a Reply

